Open drawer menu
June 12, 2017

Your Cabinet

Today, Premier Christy Clark announced British Columbia’s new cabinet. It’s a team that brings together experience, expertise, and fresh perspectives from every region of our province.

This team represents continuity on the policies that have BC leading the country – a strong economy, rapid job creation, and controlling government spending to keep taxes low.

The new cabinet also reflects what we heard from British Columbians in the election – responding to the aspirations and concerns of people right across our province. It includes five new ministers, including BC’s first ever elected Indigenous cabinet minister with a portfolio.

In the coming days, we’ll have more to share about how we would build on our record:

  • To make sure life is more affordable for middle-class families,
  • To give our children the best supports and the best start possible to build their success,
  • To protect and enhance our environment, and
  • To build communities with a high quality of life, working with municipal partners, that citizens can be proud of.

As always, we will propose those ideas in the context of balanced budgets, low taxes, and getting to yes on economic development in rural and urban communities.

In ten days, the Legislature will meet to elect a speaker and hear a Speech from the Throne outlining our agenda. This will be followed by a vote of confidence, and it’s likely we will not win that vote.

However, we have a responsibility to ensure stability through these uncertain times – by putting forward our plan as the party that won the most seats, and following the conventions of our democratic system.

The coming weeks and months may be full of uncertainty, but you can be sure of this: our team, working with people like you throughout British Columbia, will be working hard to ensure the continued strength of the BC Liberal Party and the province that we love.

Your New Cabinet

John Rustad (Nechako Lakes): Minister of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation

Andrew Wilkinson (Vancouver-Quilchena): Attorney General & Minister of Justice

Norm Letnick (Kelowna-Lake Country): Minister of Agriculture

Stephanie Cadieux (Surrey South): Minister of Children & Family Development

Mike Bernier (Peace River South): Minister of Education

Mary Polak (Langley): Minister of Health

Michael de Jong (Abbotsford West): Minister of Finance

Steve Thomson (Kelowna-Mission): Minister of Forests, Lands, & Natural Resource Operations

Donna Barnett (Cariboo-Chilcotin): Minister of State for Rural Economic Development

Teresa Wat (Richmond North Centre): Minister of International Trade and Minister Responsible for the Asia Pacific Strategy and Multiculturalism

Shirley Bond (Prince George-Valemount): Minister of Jobs, Tourism, & Skills Training and Minister Responsible for Labour

Mike Morris (Prince George-Mackenzie): Minister of Public Safety & Solicitor General

Coralee Oakes (Cariboo North): Minister of Small Business & Red Tape Reduction and Minister Responsible for the Liquor Distribution Branch

Rich Coleman (Langley East): Minister of Energy & Mines

Michelle Stilwell (Parksville-Qualicum): Minister of Social Development & Social Innovation

Todd Stone (Kamloops-South Thompson): Minister of Transportation & Infrastructure

Ellis Ross (Skeena): Minister of Natural Gas Development and Minister Responsible for Housing

Jas Johal (Richmond-Queensborough): Minister of Technology, Innovation, & Citizen Services

Sam Sullivan (Vancouver-False Creek): Minister of Community, Sport, & Cultural Development

Jordan Sturdy (West Vancouver-Sea to Sky): Minister of Environment

Linda Reid (Richmond South Centre): Minister of Advanced Education

Parliamentary Secretaries

Jane Thornthwaite – Parliamentary Secretary for Child Mental Health and Anti-Bullying to the Minister of Children and Family Development

John Yap – Parliamentary Secretary for Liquor Reform Policy to the Minister of Small Business and Red Tape Reduction and Minister Responsible for Liquor

Darryl Plecas – Parliamentary Secretary for Seniors to the Minister of Health

Simon Gibson – Parliamentary Secretary for Independent Schools to the Minister of Education

John Martin – Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Forests, Lands and Natural Resource Operations

Laurie Throness – Parliamentary Secretary for Corrections to the Minister of Public Safety and Solicitor General

Greg Kyllo – Parliamentary Secretary for the BC Jobs Plan to the Minister of Jobs, Tourism, and Skills Training

Dan Ashton – Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Finance

Linda Larson – Parliamentary Secretary for Rural Education to the Minister of Education

Marvin Hunt – Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Community, Sport and Cultural Development

Michael Lee – Parliamentary Secretary for Housing Affordability to the Minister of Natural Gas Development and Minister Responsible for Housing

Joan Isaacs – Parliamentary Secretary for Early Childhood Education to the Minister of Education

Doug Clovechok – Parliamentary Secretary to the Premier