BC Liberals announce the formation of the Leadership Election Organizing Committee

January 21, 2021

VANCOUVER — The BC Liberal Party’s Executive has announced the establishment of a Leadership Election Organizing Committee (LEOC) that will administer the upcoming leadership race.

The members of LEOC are:

  • Co-Chair Roxanne Helme of Victoria
  • Co-Chair Colin Hansen of Vancouver
  • Derek Lew of Vancouver
  • Sarah Sidhu of Port Moody
  • Don Silversides of Prince Rupert
  • Cameron Stolz of Prince George
  • Jackie Tegart of Ashcroft

“I am honoured to be involved in this important initiative and excited to be part of renewing and ever strengthening our BC Liberal Party,” said LEOC Co-Chair, Roxanne Helme.

“This is an historic time for our party as we embark on the process of selecting a new leader who will unite our coalition and put British Columbians first,” said LEOC Co-Chair, Colin Hansen.

The committee has been tasked with determining the timeline for the election, establishing the rules that will guide the race, and implementing the process by which members will elect the leader.

“The election of a new leader is an integral part of the renewal and rebuilding process that the BC Liberal Party and its members are currently engaged in,” said Lindsay Cote, Interim Executive Director of the BC Liberal Party. “I want to thank the members of LEOC for dedicating their time and expertise to this extremely important process that will have a significant impact on the future of both the Party and the province.”

All members of the party’s Executive and LEOC have pledged to remain neutral throughout the leadership process to ensure fairness and accountability.

– 30 –


Rachael Segal
Senior Director


Roxanne Helme has been practicing law in Victoria for over 30 years. She is an active community volunteer having provided governance expertise to benefit organizations including the Victoria and Esquimalt Police Board, the Inter-Cultural Association of Victoria, the Coalition to End Homelessness and the Canadian College of Performing Arts.

Colin Hansen served as the MLA for Vancouver-Quilchena from 1996 to 2013. He was a member of Cabinet for ten years which included serving as Deputy Premier and at various times, Minister of Finance, Health and Economic Development.

Derek Lew is the President and Chief Executive Officer of GrowthWorks Capital. Derek holds a Bachelor of Arts from the University of British Columbia and a Bachelor of Laws from the University of Alberta and is a member of the Law Society of British Columbia.

Sarah Sidhu is an experienced lawyer in both the private and public sector and currently practices in-house. She is an active community volunteer and currently serves as a member of the board of directors of the Vancouver Foundation. She is also a member of the Canadian Bar Association and Canadian Corporate Counsel Association.

Don Silversides practices corporate and commercial law in Prince Rupert. For the 2017/2018 BC Liberal leadership election, he was a member of the rules committee. Don is currently the acting president of the BC Liberal Party.

Cameron Stolz has been a small business owner for over 30 years in Prince George with almost three dozen staff working at his companies. He served two terms on city council where he chaired the Governance Review and the Finance and Audit Committees.

Jackie Tegart was first elected as the MLA for Fraser-Nicola in 2013 and was re-elected in 2017 and 2020. She currently serves as the Official Opposition Critic for Education. Prior to being elected as the MLA, she served three terms on Ashcroft council and was a school board member for 17 years.


Recent Posts


Sign up to get the latest BC Liberal Party news in your inbox.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.